The EICTA (European Information, Communications and Consumer Electronics Industry Technology Association) has given itself a new name: DIGITALEUROPE. The new name,  which was presented last week, is meant to underline the importance of the sector and the integral role it plays in European business and society.



Created in 1999


The Brussels-based association was established in 1999 and represents the interests of both national associations and corporations operating in the information technology and consumer electronics sector in Europe.




The current member companies are:


Adobe, Agilent, Alcatel-Lucent, AMD, Apple, Bang & Olufsen, Bose, Brother, Canon, Cisco, Corning, Dell, EADS, Elcoteq, Epson, Ericsson, Fujitsu, Hitachi, HP, IBM, Infineon, Ingram Micro, Intel, JVC, Kenwood, Kodak, Konica Minolta, Lexmark, LG, Loewe, Micronas, Microsoft, Mitsubishi, Motorola, NEC, Nokia, Nokia Siemens Networks, Nortel, NXP, Océ, Oki, Oracle, Panasonic, Philips, Pioneer, Qualcomm, Research In Motion, Samsung, Sanyo, SAP, Sharp, Siemens, Sony, Sony Ericsson, STMicroelectronics, Sun Microsystems, Texas Instruments, Thales, Thomson, Toshiba, Xerox.



New Director and new opportunities


Besides a new name and logo, DIGITALEUROPE also announced the appointment of a new Director General, Bridget Cosgrave. She succeeds Mark MacGann, who is moving to be CEO of Weber Shandwick in Brussels following five years at the head of EICTA.


According to DIGITALEUROPE President Erkki Ormala, the current economic crisis offers opportunities. “Europe could build on the current crisis to build a new leadership", he said. He also suggested that "new partnerships have to be built and new business models may be required."


The EBU continues to work with DIGITALEUROPE  in several areas, including on topics such as Digital Radio in Europe, CE equipment requirements and accessibility technology. For more information on DIGITALEUROPE, please contact: Ms Bridget Cosgrave .

Latest news